About our Restoration and Addition Project

The Commission —
Directing the Restoration

The nine-member Idaho State Capitol Commission was created by the Legislature during its 1998 Session and charged with, among other things, developing a Master Plan for the restoration and refurbishment of the Capitol building. The enabling statute for the Commission is Idaho Code Title 67 Chapter 16.

Four commissioners are appointed by the Governor, including the Commission Chairman. The Speaker of the House and Senate President Pro Tempore also offer appointments to the Commission.

Ex officio voting members include the Director of the Legislative Services Office, the Director of the Idaho State Historical Society, and the Director of the Department of Administration (who also serves as Commission Secretary).

The Governor, the Senate President Pro Tempore, and the Speaker of the House may, at their discretion, serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the Commission.

Support Your Capitol

Purchase a Capitol license plate!

I want to:


    Commission Meetings
    Design and Construction Committee Meetings
      Meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change.